The Daffodil Perspective Awards

The Daffodil Perspective Awards is a new annual classical music award system dedicated to celebrating marginalised music and musicians.

The awards will champion recordings of music written and brought to life by marginalised voices in classical music. Specifically women composers and conductors, BAME composers, conductors and musicians.

The first Daffodil Perspective Awards will cover recordings released in 2019 with the winners announced next April.


Consultation period until 1st November 2019.

Nominations close 1st February 2020.

Shortlist announced 1st March 2020.

Winners announced 1st April 2020.

Nominations will only be accepted that meet the criteria below:

  1. Recordings of exclusively women composers
  2. Recordings of BAME composers
  3. Gender balanced recordings (at least 40% of the album composed by women)
  4. Recordings by women conductors
  5. Recordings by BAME conductors
  6. Recordings by BAME musicians

NB: Please do not nominate an album that you were involved in creating/releasing.

Current Ideas for Categories

  1. Instrumental
  2. Orchestral
  3. Opera/choral/vocal
  4. Single composer recordings
  5. Various composer recordings

At the moment the plan is to create a shortlist from nominations that meet our carefully selected criteria. The shortlist will be announced and then a public vote for the winners.

Want to have your say? Want to help decide the categories?

Get involved with the consultations happening until 1st November. Comments and ideas welcomed below and on the Facebook Advisory Group.

Watch this space for more info, updates and developments coming soon!

Here’s to a more gender balanced and diverse future.